The times, they’re always changing


I posted on twitter (tweeted) for the 5000th time today. I usually keep this practice of dedicating my landmark tweets (generally the thousands)
to something or the other. It may be something close to my heart, a topic that I might have been discussing a lot on the website; it could be
about people, things or events that inspired me, or phenomena that amaze me.

Today, I’d been on the bus back home from Pune, posting about the journey as I realized I was approaching the landmark. I had to stop, think and pay a fitting tribute to the “occassion”. And, just as I was tapping the keypad on my phone contemplating, it struck me. I came up with a series of 3 tweets which read –

“T-5000 To technology.Back in ’99,I remember my first windows PC & modem internet connection.Those modems were huge & beeping all the time..”

“Internet was confusion,yet exciting.Today I’m posting on a social networking website (an idea beyond the wildest imaginations back then)..”

“for the 5000th time from my phone ! The times, they are always changing #challengeeverything “

We keep talking of a massive paradigm shift coming up sometime in the near future, but aren’t we part of one all the time ? Ideas, once inconceivable, are today’s everyday reality. I mean, for eg., very few, if anyone, would have imagined it to be possible one day that 2 people thousands of miles apart could watch eachother walk and talk in real time – Stuff of Star Wars ! But, the webcam and video calling are so common-place today, we never stop to marvel this achievement. Magic turns into reality every second !

Who’s to tell us what is not possible tomorrow ? I imagine a world where my mom would cook me dinner in Mumbai & I’ll be able to have it in Delhi. A future where “real” physical objects could be transmitted/replicated over extremely advanced intelligent networks, the 10Gs & 11Gs who knows, in real time ! In fact, I’d go so far as prophesying that this future turns to reality within my lifetime. There are crazy possibilities awaiting us. Imagine. Challenge Everything.

Follow me on twitter @kartriter

Leave a Reply

